Facebook announced this morning that they are making changes to its Comment Box widget.
If you have implemented the Facebook Comment Box widget below the content on your site, visitors who are already logged into Facebook no longer need to log in again to place a comment. Some third-party log-ins are supported by the new comment box. There is also the opportunity to post a link to the original content onto your Facebook Wall and into your friends’ News Feeds with a simple tick of a box.
“Discussion threads stay synced across Facebook and on the Comments Box on your site regardless of where the comment was made”, said Ray C. He in his post on the Facebook developer’s blog. “Users will also receive a notification whenever another user replies to their comment. Clicking on the notification will take the user back to the web page where the comment originated, driving more traffic back to your site” he added.
Website owners who also have a Facebook Page for their site are able to comment on a site’s content whilst logged in as the Page administrator. So, Facebook users who “Like” the Page can see that comment, plus a link to the original content in their News Feed and on the Page’s Wall.